Cabarrus County Education Foundation


invitation webEvery year, the Cabarrus County Education Foundation sponsors the Superintendent’s Choice Art Awards in celebration of Youth Art Month.

The national, annual observance emphasizes the value of art education for all children and encourages the support of quality school art programs. Cabarrus County Schools is fortunate to have a strong visual arts program at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

Superintendent Chris Lowder selects three new art pieces to add to the superintendent’s permanent art collection. These pieces are to be displayed on location at the Education Center. One winner from each respective group, elementary, middle and high school are given this honor and awarded a monetary gift of $100 at the Cabarrus County Board of Education meeting every April.

Additionally, a celebration is held for student artists who have pieces on display and their families later in the month.


 ES Winner

 Emily LaMattina
"Bearden Guitar"
Cox Mill Elementary School

 MS Winner  Jerry Chen
Harris Road Middle School
HS Winner Melina Esquivel-Hernandez
"Stumbling Is Not Falling"
Cox Mill High School
Froggy Friends - Mary Frances Wall Center website     Elementary School Winner
4 and 5 year old group project - Mary Frances Wall Center

"Froggy Friends"
Art Teachers - Andrea Nelson, Ms. Detsch and Ms. Meadows
 Fire in the Sky - Asa Meentemeyer website     Middle School Winner
Asa Meentemeyer - JN Fries Magnet Middle School

"Fire in the Sky"
Art Teacher - Meredith Farrell
daffodil - Jazmin Williams website    

High School Winner
Jazmin Williams - Mount Pleasant High School

Art Teacher - Kate Highsmith

untitled web     Elementary School Winner
Alex Deese - Winecoff Elementary
Art Teacher - Aimee Henderson
 calmnessofthesea web     Middle School Winner
Alexa Smith - JN Fries Magnet Middle School
"Calmness of the Sea"
Art Teacher - Meredith Farrell
bythelights web    

High School Winner
Mary Martinez - Northwest Cabarrus High School
"By the Lights" 
Art Teacher - Deanna Ladd


 peacock     Elementary School Winner
Branson Clement - Charles E. Boger Elementary School

Art Teachers - Terri Edmiston and
Jodi Richardson
 barrel rider     Middle School Winner
Gracie Haynes - Concord Middle School

"Barrel Horse"
Art Teacher - Roz Lehning
road art    

High School Winner
Haley Bean - Concord High School

"Copperfield Sunset"
Art Teacher - Quin Dionne

Ben Mynatt Family of DealershipsPerry ProductionsS&D Coffee and TeaVulcan MaterialsBen Mynatt Children's FoundationPiedmont TrustWomble CarlyleThe Speedway ClubSyscoptr duke energyptr wells fargoptr ACNepri websuntrustlogo webdougdonia logo web

Please support the Cabarrus County Education Foundation. To donate, contact Amy Gough at