Cabarrus County Education Foundation


Kelly Bumgardner has been named the 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year for Cabarrus County SchoolsKelly Bumgardner web

Superintendent Chris Lowder announced Bumgardner’s selection at the Teacher of the Year celebration evening on May 5th.The night was hosted by Hickory Ridge High School and food and beverage prepared and served by the Culinary Art Students on campus.

Bumgardner, who teaches English Language Arts at Northwest Cabarrus Middle Schools, was selected among four other CCS teachers who were named finalists in March.

The remaining four finalists are Ashley Chastain – A.T. Allen Elementary School; Jessica Enlow – Cox Mill High School; Angela Martin – J.N. Fries Magnet School; Ryan Shaver – Mount Pleasant High School.

Bumgardner also serves as the academically and intellectually gifted (AIG) chairperson at Northwest Cabarrus Middle School, as well as the 7th grade cheerleading coach.

Title sponsors for this event include SunTrust Bank, the Great Wolf Lodge, Hayes Charitable Trust and Liberty Mutual. All other sponsors include the Cabarrus County Convention & Visitors Bureau, Kannapolis Intimidators, Autobell Car Wash, Panera Bread, Chick-fil-a, Mary Kay and The Frosted Butterfly. She also will receive a $1,000 voucher for a technology purchase for her classroom.

Ben Mynatt Family of DealershipsPerry ProductionsS&D Coffee and TeaVulcan MaterialsBen Mynatt Children's FoundationPiedmont TrustWomble CarlyleThe Speedway ClubSyscoptr duke energyptr wells fargoptr ACNepri websuntrustlogo webdougdonia logo web

Please support the Cabarrus County Education Foundation. To donate, contact Amy Gough at